

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Samantha White Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 116 swhite@tafp.org

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, receives the TAFP Presidential Award of Merit

GRAPEVINE, TEXAS — The Texas Academy of Family Physicians presented its Presidential Award of Merit to Sue S. Bornstein, MD, MACP, at TAFP's Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in Grapevine on Nov. 11. Bornstein couldn't be in attendance so a pre-recorded acceptance video was played for attendees. The award is given each year to those who show outstanding contributions to health care in Texas.

"Thank you, Dr. Briggs and the TAFP leadership, for recognizing me in this most meaningful way," Bornstein said. "Your support for and commitment to advancing primary care in Texas has been and continues to be an inspiration not only to me but to countless others."

TAFP Past President Emily Briggs, MD, MPH, chose Bornstein for the award based on her commitment to Texas patients. "While she may not be a family physician," Briggs said, "Dr. Bornstein exemplifies the virtues of a family doc and is committed to excellence for her patients and her community. She is a tireless advocate for all patients in the state and beyond, and leads with wisdom, strategy, and passion towards a healthier tomorrow for all Texans."

Bornstein brought the concept of the "Medical Home" to Texas a decade ago, and currently serves as the executive director of the Texas Medical Home Initiative and co-chair of the Texas Primary Care Consortium. She is also the immediate past chair of the American College of Physicians' Board of Regents.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.