

# NEWS RELEASE

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

#### CONTACT:

Samantha White Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 116 swhite@tafp.org

## TAFP installs 2023-2024 officers

GRAPEVINE, TEXAS — The Texas Academy of Family Physicians installed the 2023-2024 officers during the 2023 Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in Grapevine on Nov. 11.

### President – Terrance Hines, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Hines is the executive director and chief medical officer for University Health Services at The University of Texas at Austin. His practice emphasizes student health, gender care, and HIV prevention. He completed undergraduate and medical school at Texas A&M University and residency at John Peter Smith Hospital in Fort Worth. He was recently recognized with the Austin Under 40 Award in Medicine and Health Care as well as the TAFP Special Constituency Leadership Award.

### President-Elect - Lindsay Botsford, MD, MBA

Dr. Botsford is a market medical director with One Medical, where she leads their Houston practices and cares for older adults on Medicare in a value-based model. She also currently serves as an appointee to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC) and on the Partnership for Quality Measurement Primary Care and Chronic Illness Committee. She is a graduate of Rice University and Baylor College of Medicine, and completed residency training at Baylor College of Medicine's Kelsey-Seybold Clinic and her MBA at the University of Houston.

## Treasurer – Ike Okwuwa, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Okwuwa serves as residency program director for the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center of the Permian Basin and is chairman of the board of directors for Permian Basin Health Network, a physician-hospital organization. He graduated from the University of Benin Medical School in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria, and completed residency training at TTUHSCPB. He previously served as the new physician member and an at-large member on TAFP's Board of Directors.

### Parliamentarian - Adrian Billings, MD, PhD

Dr. Billings, of Alpine, is the Chief Medical Officer of Preventative Care Health Services FQHC in

the Big Bend, the Associate Academic Dean of Rural and Community Engagement and Senior Fellow of the F. Marie Hall Institute for Rural and Community Health at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He has been a career long rural community physician along the Texas-Mexico border of West Texas. Dr. Billings is passionate about enabling rural-born and educated students' opportunities to enroll in health care training programs.

### Immediate Past President - Emily Briggs, MD, MPH

Dr. Briggs is the founder of Briggs Family Medicine, where she practices full-spectrum family medicine and obstetrics, and she has been the medical director for two New Braunfels school districts. She has served as the new physician board member for both TAFP and AAFP. She has served as president of her county medical society, the Alamo Chapter of TAFP, and as TAFP President in 2022-2023. She received her Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University, her master's in public health from the University of Houston School of Public Health, and her medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. She completed residency at Christus Santa Rosa in San Antonio.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education, and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.