

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Samantha White Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 116 swhite@tafp.org

TAFP installs 2024-2025 officers

THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS — The Texas Academy of Family Physicians installed the 2024-2025 officers during the 2024 Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in The Woodlands on Nov. 9.

President - Lindsay Botsford, MD, MBA

Dr. Botsford is a market medical director with One Medical, where she leads their Houston practices and cares for older adults on Medicare in a value-based model. Her passions include health care transformation, quality, leadership development, and increasing joy in practice for the health care team. She is a graduate of Rice University and Baylor College of Medicine, and completed residency training at Baylor College of Medicine's Kelsey-Seybold Clinic. She earned an MBA at the University of Houston.

President-Elect - Ike Okwuwa, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Okwuwa serves as residency program director for the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center of the Permian Basin and is chairman of the board of directors for Permian Basin Health Network, a physician-hospital organization. He graduated from the University of Benin Medical School in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria, and completed residency training at TTUHSCPB. He previously served as the new physician member and an at-large member on TAFP's Board of Directors.

Treasurer - Adrian Billings, MD, PhD

Dr. Billings, of Alpine, is the Chief Medical Officer of Preventative Care Health Services FQHC in the Big Bend, and he is the Associate Academic Dean of Rural and Community Engagement and Senior Fellow of the F. Marie Hall Institute for Rural and Community Health at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He has been a career-long rural community physician along the Texas-Mexico border in West Texas.

Parliamentarian - Puja Sehgal, MD

Dr. Sehgal is a practicing family physician in Houston, and currently serves as the Chief of Family Medicine Department at Kelsey-Seybold and an elected board member of Kelsey Seybold medical group. She completed medical school in India, an internship at Wichita Falls Family Medicine Residency Program, and residency at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. She is past president of the Harris County chapter and has served on various committees and councils during her 20-year membership with TAFP. She previously chaired the Section on Special Constituencies and served as vice chair of the Council on Medical Practice. She served on the TAFP board in 2020 and has mentored residents for TAFP's Resident Leadership Experience program.

Immediate Past President – Terrance Hines, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Hines is the executive director and chief medical officer for University Health Services at The University of Texas at Austin. His practice emphasizes student health, gender care, and HIV prevention. He completed undergraduate and medical school at Texas A&M University and residency at John Peter Smith Hospital in Fort Worth. He was recently recognized with the Austin Under 40 Award in Medicine and Health Care as well as the TAFP Special Constituency Leadership Award.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education, and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.