Humanitarian Award

Tags: awards, humanitarian award, nomination

Past recipients

2018 — Charles Ted Mettetal, MD

Humanitarian Award

TAFP created the Humanitarian award in 2018 modeled after the AAFP Humanitarian Award to honor extraordinary and enduring humanitarian efforts both within and beyond the borders of the United States. Nominees must be TAFP members and the award will not necessarily be given every year.

Nomination requirements

  • Provide a written narrative describing the nominee’s accomplishments and why they deserve this award,
  • Submit a letter of recommendation from the nominator, and
  • Submit a typed copy of a current curriculum vitae limited to five pages.

The Commission on Membership and Member Services will judge submissions.

2020 awards will be presented at the TAFP Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in Grapevine on Nov. 7, 2020.

Questions should be addressed to Kathy McCarthy by email at or by phone at (512) 329-8666, ext 114.

Nominations must be received by TAFP by March 9, 2020.

Please mail or email nominations to:

Kathy McCarthy
Texas Academy of Family Physicians 
12012 Technology Boulevard, Suite 200
Austin, Texas 78727