Special Constituency Leadership Award

Tags: awards, special constituency leadership award, nomination

Past recipients

2010 — Amer Shakil, MD
2011 — K. Ashok Kumar, MD
2012 — Linda Siy, MD
2013 — Bruce Echols, MD
2014 — Tricia Elliott, MD
2015 — Christina Kelly, MD
2016 — Mary Nguyen, MD
2017 — Emily Briggs, MD

Special Constituency Leadership Award

The Section on Special Constituencies created the Special Constituency Leadership Award in 2009. This award is given to an outstanding TAFP-member family physician who is or has been a strong advocate for a specific special constituency and/or, as a member of a specific constituency, has served as an outstanding leader in some capacity.

The five special constituency categories are: women; minority; new physician; international medical graduate (IMG); or gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (GLBT).

Nomination requirements

  • Submit a completed nomination form,
  • Submit a typed copy of a current a typed copy of a current curriculum vitae limited to five pages, and
  • Submit up to three recommendation letters from the nominator and other supporters.

The Section on Special Constituencies will judge submissions.

2020 awards will be presented at the TAFP Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in Grapevine on Nov. 7, 2020.

Questions should be addressed to Jonathan Nelson by email at jnelson@tafp.org or by phone at (512) 329-8666, ext 126.

Nominations must be received by TAFP by March 9, 2020.

Please mail or email nominations to:

Jonathan Nelson
Texas Academy of Family Physicians
12012 Technology Boulevard, Suite 200
Austin, Texas 78727