TAFP officers

Tags: membership, leadership, tafp, president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer, parliamentarian, immediate past president

Meet TAFP’s officers

Javier D. “Jake” Margo Jr., MD | President
Dr. Margo practices family medicine in his hometown of Rio Grande City. He is president of both the TAFP Valley Chapter and the Hidalgo Starr County Medical Society. He is director of obstetrics and emergency medical services for the local county hospital where he works in the emergency department. Margo received his medical degree from Texas A&M College of Medicine and completed a residency with the John Peter Smith Family Practice Residency Program in Fort Worth. He is also a member of the Texas Medical Association’s Border Health Caucus and Small District Caucus, as well as the Wilderness Medicine Society. As a resident, he served on the American Academy of Family Physicians’ Commission on Quality and Scope of Practice and represented Texas as a delegate to AAFP’s National Conference of Family Physician Residents.

Amer Shakil, MD | President-elect
Dr. Shakil is currently Interim Chair of the UT Southwestern Department of Family and Community Medicine and Chair of TAFP’s Commission on Academic Affairs. He also serves as Vice President of the Dallas chapter of TAFP and a member of the Board of Directors. He remains dedicated to serving his community by assisting in the creation of faith-based free clinics. Shakil earned his Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery at Punjab University, his Medical Doctorate from the Education Commission on Foreign Medical Graduates in Philadelphia, and his Master of Business Administration in Healthcare Organization Leadership from the University of Texas.

Mary Nguyen, MD | Treasurer
Dr. Nguyen shares a family medicine practice with her husband in the rural town of Castroville and counts special needs advocacy as near and dear to her heart. She attended medical school at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and came to San Antonio to do her residency at Christus Santa Rosa. She is currently a Member Constituency Delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates and previously held the position of Minority Co-convener for the 2017 National Conference of Constituency Leaders. Nguyen has served on several TAFP commissions and committees, including the Executive Committee and she currently serves on the TAFP Board of Directors as the Special Constituency member. She is the current Alamo Chapter Treasurer and was recently selected to serve on AAFP’s Reference Committee on Advocacy. She’s an avid supporter of the arts and she enjoys attending the symphony and theater with her husband and spending time with their 11-year-old son.

Emily Briggs, MD | Parliamentarian
Dr. Briggs is the founder of Briggs Family Medicine, where she practices full-spectrum family medicine and obstetrics and is the medical director for two of New Braunfels school districts. She is an active TAFP member who has served on multiple committees and commissions and as the new physician board member for both TAFP and the American Academy of Family Physicians. She has served as president of her local chapter of Texas Medical Association and the Alamo Chapter of TAFP. She has also represented Texas during AAFP’s National Conference of Constituency Leaders. Briggs received her Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University, her Master in Public Health from the University of Houston School of Public Health, and her medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. She completed her residency at Christus Santa Rosa Family Residency Program in San Antonio.

Rebecca Hart, MD | Immediate Past President
Dr. Hart is a physician at South Shore Medical Center in League City, where she practices family medicine with a special interest in hormone replacement and women’s health. She is a former director of residency programs at the University of Texas at Houston and the University of Hawaii, as well as associate director for the San Jacinto Methodist Hospital Family Practice Residency Program. Hart received her medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern and completed a residency with the Baylor College of Medicine where she served as chief resident. She previously chaired TAFP’s Commission on Academic Affairs and Commission on Continuing Professional Development. Hart also previously served as TAFP’s Harris County Chapter president, and recently completed a term on the American Academy of Family Physicians’ Commission on Health of the Public and Science.