Sen. Nelson given TAFP Patient Advocacy Award

Tags: senate, nelson, denton, tarrant, legislature, advocacy, bartos, deuser, swegler

Sen. Nelson given TAFP Patient Advocacy Award

posted 11.20.13

State Senator Jane Nelson was named the recipient of the 2013 TAFP Patient Advocacy Award at the 64th Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Fort Worth on Aug. 3. TAFP members Dr. Justin Bartos, Dr. Tamra Deuser, and Dr. Erica Swegler recently presented the award to Sen. Nelson.

Drs. Bartos, Deuser, and Swegler present the award to Sen. Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound

Sen. Nelson has represented parts of Denton and Tarrant counties since 1992. She is currently chair of the Health and Human Services Committee, a position she has held longer than any other senator, and a member of the Senate Finance Committee.

During the 83rd Texas Legislature, Nelson authored Senate Bill 143, which addressed the physician workforce shortage in the state. The legislation was added on to another bill and passed into law, which will increase the number of residency positions and create incentives for medical schools that promote primary care to medical students looking to discern a specialty.

“Senator Nelson is a steadfast advocate for the physicians and patients of Texas,” said TAFP President Clare Hawkins, M.D. “As the powerful chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee she championed efforts to strengthen Texas’ physician workforce by increasing residency slots for physicians in training while cutting unnecessary administrative hassles, paperwork, and waste from our health care system.”

“In order to ensure access to care, we must ensure there are qualified physicians available to treat our patients,” Sen. Nelson said upon receiving the award. “I am grateful to the Texas Academy of Family Physicians for their service to our state and their advocacy on behalf of their patients.”