Member News - Q2 2018

Tags: member news, Q2, 2018, ACOG award, 2018 Gold-Headed Cane Award

Member News

Martindale receives 2018 Gold-Headed Cane Award
Tim Martindale, MD, was presented with the Gold-Headed Cane Award by the McLennan County Medical Society at a banquet on Friday, April 13. This was the 19th year the member physicians of the McLennan County Medical Society nominated and voted for one of their colleagues to receive this award.

Based on a tradition that originated in England in the 1600s, the qualifications of the recipient include professional standing, good citizenship, and personal integrity. The award is a symbol of respect, truth, culture, and art in the medical profession. Here in the United States, many larger cities have carried it on to honor an outstanding physician with a long history of commitment to quality medicine in their community.

Martindale, a former pastor and journalist, attended the University of Houston and then the University of Texas in Austin before finishing medical school at UTMB in Galveston. He completed his residency in family medicine at the Family Medicine Residency Program in Waco, where he graduated as chief resident before joining Providence Hospital and opening his own practice while also serving as medical director of the Freeman Center for more than 10 years.

In addition, Martindale has served as chief of staff for Providence Hospital, board chair of McLennan County Medical Education and Research Foundation, president of the Central Texas Academy of Family Physicians, member of the Waco Leadership Forum, and for two terms as president of the McLennan County Medical Society.


Janet Realini, MD

TAFP member wins ACOG Distinguished Service Award
Janet Realini, MD, MPH, was recognized by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists during their annual meeting. The College Distinguished Service Award is given to outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to the College or the discipline of obstetrics and gynecology in government, in research, in teaching, or in direct patient care.

“This award means so much to me because it recognizes the importance of family planning and teen pregnancy prevention to women’s health,” Realini says. “I am overwhelmed that ACOG would recognize a family physician for leading our collaborative work in Texas. Healthy Futures of Texas’ amazing team works with many local and statewide organizations to make a difference.”


Local TAFP chapters install new officers
The Alamo Chapter of TAFP recently installed new officers. President, Linda May, MD; vice president, Stuti Nagpal, MD; president elect, Mary Anne Snyder, DO; secretary, Spencer Lewis, MD; treasurer, Mary Nguyen, MD; and immediate past president, Cecily Kelly, MD.

The Harris Co. Chapter of TAFP also installed new officers. President, Lindsay Botsford, MD; vice president, Eric Lee, MD; president elect, Monica Clark-Reed, MD; secretary, Sherri Onyiego, MD; treasurer, Irvin Sulapas, MD; and immediate past president, Puja Sehgal, MD. Congratulations to all those assuming their new leadership roles.


UNT brings students into primary care clinical setting
The University of North Texas Health Science Center has partnered with Catalyst Health Network to ensure their students receive training in the primary care clinical setting.

“The agreement reinforces UNTHSC’s focus on education, research and the health care of the community,” said UNTHSC President Michael Williams, DO, MD, MBA. “It will also give students new opportunities to train in the clinical environment in which they will one day practice.

“Catalyst not only aligns perfectly with UNTHSC’s values, it is the future of health care in North Texas,” Williams said. “This unique relationship embodies everything we do regarding our mission to create the health care providers of the future.”

“Through this partnership, we will be able to accomplish more than either organization could do alone,” said Christopher Crow, MD, president of Catalyst Health Network. “UNTHSC is building the workforce of the future, and Catalyst is building the health care model of the future. Together we can shape the North Texas market to be a national leader in value-based care to help our communities thrive.”