Member News - Q3 2018

Member News

FPs named Health Heroes
President of the Texas Medical Association and past president of TAFP, Douglas Curran, MD, of Athens, Li-Yu Mitchell, MD, of Tyler, and Lekshmi Nair, MD, of Manvel, were named Health Heroes during TexMed. The TMA Foundation recognized the physicians for their participation in all three of TMA’s outreach programs: Be Wise — Immunize, Hard Hats for Little Heads, and Walk with a Doc Texas.

AAFP names Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education recipients
Astrud Villareal, MD, and James Wang, MD, were both honored with AAFP’s 2018 Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education. The award is given to only 12 family medicine residents each year out of the 3,500 eligible for the honor. Villareal is the recipient the 2016 Minnie Lee Lancaster, MD, Scholarship Award in Family Medicine and Wang is a current TAFP National Conference Delegate.

Local TAFP chapter installs new officers
The Dallas County Chapter of TAFP recently installed new officers. President, Tanya Stachiw, MD; vice president, Zaiba Jetpuri, DO; secretary, Robert Contreras, MD; treasurer, Amer Shakil, MD; member at-large, Rommana Aziz, DO; member at-large, Rathna Nuti, MD; alternate member at-large, Khalida Yasmin, MD; alternate member at-large, Minhaj Khan, MD; and immediate past president, Chrisette Dharma, MD. The chapter recently expanded its leadership roles to include a resident representative, Astrud Villareal, MD, from the UT Southwestern Family Medicine Residency Program and medical student representative, Maggie Leland, from UT Southwestern Medical School.Congratulations to all those assuming their new roles.