Two Texas FMIGs receive national, state awards

Tags: FMIG awards, UTSW, UTMB, family medicine interest groups

Texas Family Medicine Interest Groups recognized locally and nationally

TAFP named the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School – Dallas and the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston as TAFP Family Medicine Interest Group Program of Excellence Award winners for their efforts in generating interest in family medicine. The Texas award winners received cash prizes from TAFP to help cover travel costs to AAFP’s National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Students.

At AAFP’s National Conference in July in Kansas City, these two medical schools were honored nationally. The American Academy of Family Physicians Family Medicine Interest Group Network recognized the two Texas medical schools as 2019 AAFP Program of Excellence Award winners.

These state and national awards celebrate and support FMIGs for inspiring medical students to consider the specialty of family medicine.

University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
AAFP FMIG Program of Excellence Award: FMIG Operation


UTMB students, residents, and faculty pictured from left to right are Deanne Phillips, YI “Lisa” Liang, Edward Strecker, MD, Shannon Samuelson, Jennifer Raley, MD, Alex Cantu, Tracy Hu, Jonathan Teren, and Robles Ghebrekristos.

UTMB FMIG members have many activities they can participate in throughout the year. The most attended is the Primary Care Procedures at the Primary Care Pavilion event, which has been running for nine years. At the event, students have the opportunity to practice a wide array of ambulatory clinical procedures through hands-on workshops led by faculty members and residents. They also host an annual residency fair and give back to their community by holding a flu vaccine and toiletry donation drive for the homeless population around UTMB.

University of Texas Southwestern Medical School – Dallas
AAFP FMIG Program of Excellence Award: Professional Development


UTSW students and faculty pictured from left to right are Emily Gao, Amy Luu, Oliver Taylor, Tamara McGregor, MD, Brian Ostler, Zaiba Jetpuri, DO, and Anita Vasudevan.

UTSW hosts events throughout the year, showcasing the family medicine specialty. FMIG leaders started a six-session preclinical procedural skills elective course taught by resident faculty. The sessions include an educational instructional component followed by hands-on procedure training. From August through April, they host a series of lunch lectures and workshops that promote the scope and diversity of family medicine. Additionally, they hold a year-long longitudinal clinic shadowing program, where students are matched to shadow faculty advisors in the family medicine clinic.

FMIGs are sponsored by medical schools and run by students and faculty. They give medical students opportunities to learn about family medicine through meetings, workshops, leadership development opportunities, and clinical experiences. Outstanding medical students that are leading and participating in their campus’ FMIG activities help drive the family medicine revolution in the right direction.

Are you a member of an FMIG on your campus? TAFP will begin accepting applications for the Texas FMIG Program of Excellence Award in early 2020. Please contact Juleah Williams at to apply.