Meet the TAFP Board candidates

Tags: board of directors, kelly, johnson, briggs, molina, annual session and primary care summit

Meet the TAFP Board candidates

At the Member Assembly on Friday, Nov. 13 during this year’s TAFP Annual Session and Primary Care Summit, members will elect three of their colleagues to the TAFP Board of Directors. Two members are running for two available at-large positions and two members are running to hold the new physician position.

According to the TAFP Bylaws, a slate of candidates are proposed by the Nominating Committee. Candidates may also be nominated by local chapters provided the nominations are made at least 90 days prior to the election, and candidates may be nominated from the floor at the Member Assembly. If you have any questions about the nomination or election process, please contact Kathy McCarthy at

At-large director

Christina Kelly, MD, was awarded her medical degree by The Ohio State University College of Medicine, then completed her residency in 2006 and OB fellowship in 2007, both with the Tacoma Family Medicine Residency Program. Kelly now serves as civilian faculty for the Family Medicine Residency Program and Director for the Family Medicine OB Fellowship at the Carl R. Darnall Army Medical Center at Fort Hood. She has previously been active in both the Ohio and Washington chapters of AAFP, as well as currently being an active member of TAFP. She was the convener at AAFP’s National Conference of Constituency Leaders earlier this year, and previously served on AAFP’s Commission on Membership and Member Services, as a new physician delegate to AAFP’s Congress of Delegates, and as the resident member of the AAFP Board of Directors.

Upon graduating from the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Brett Johnson, MD, completed a residency with the Hamot Family Practice Residency in Erie, Pennsylvania. He has been the program director of the Methodist Health System Family Practice Residency Program in Dallas since 2001. Johnson previously served on TAFP’s Committee on Academic Affairs.

New physician director

After graduating from the University of Texas Medical School at Houston and completing a residency with CHRISTUS, Emily Briggs, MD, MPH, opened her private practice in New Braunfels, where she has practiced since 2009. Briggs Family Medicine is a full scope practice which highlights full scope obstetrics. Briggs has served in many capacities with both TAFP and AAFP, most recently as a new physician representative for the National Conference of Constituency Leaders and the new physician member of AAFP’s Board of Directors. She also previously served as resident chair of AAFP’s Commission on Education and as a resident delegate to AAFP’s Congress of Delegates.

A graduate of the University of Texas Medical Branch, Alyssa Molina, MD, MPH, completed her residency with the Conroe Family Medicine Residency Program in 2010. She then moved to Eagle Lake, where she currently practices full scope family medicine at Rice Medical Associates, including inpatient medicine and obstetrics at a critical access hospital. Molina also provides rural emergency room coverage at Southwest Medical Associates. She is currently a member of TAFP’s Committee on Academic Affairs.