TAFP Foundation president appointed to AAFP Foundation board

Tags: moquist, tafp foundation, members, aafp, foundation

TAFP Foundation president appointed to AAFP Foundation board

Dale C. Moquist, M.D., F.A.A.F.P., of Sugar Land, Texas, has been appointed to the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation Board of Trustees. In this position, he will oversee the humanitarian, educational, and scientific initiatives of the AAFP Foundation. His four-year term begins on Jan. 1, 2012.

Moquist has served as president of the TAFP Foundation Board of Trustees since 2006, enthusiastically supporting the Foundation’s mission to encourage medical students to pursue the specialty, to support family medicine residents, and to fund practice-based primary care research. Under his leadership, the TAFP Foundation created several new medical student scholarships and began the research endowment.

He currently serves as full-time faculty and geriatric coordinator at the Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program in Sugar Land. He previously served on the faculty for two Texas residency programs and as a private-practice physician in Grand Forks, N.D. He was awarded his medical degree by the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas and completed a family medicine residency at the University of Minnesota Family Practice Residency Program, North Memorial Medical Center.

Moquist has held numerous leadership positions in AAFP, TAFP, and the North Dakota Academy of Family Physicians including a three-year term on AAFP’s Board of Directors, from 1993-1996. Before that, he served as a delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates for nine years; chair of the AAFP Commission on Membership and Member Services in 1994; chair of the AAFP Commission on Quality and Scope of Practice from 1994-1995; and AAFP delegate to the American Medical Association from 1997-2010.